NNSL Photo/Graphic

Canadian North

Home page text size buttonsbigger textsmall textText size Email this articleE-mail this page

Community leaders want Power Corp. review

Lyndsay Herman
Northern News Services
Published Monday, May 21, 2012

More than 100 representatives from the NWT Association of Communities member municipalities participated in the association's 46th annual general meeting from May 10 to 13.

Resolutions passed at the meeting addressed key issues such as power rates, ambulance services and emergency funding.

The Northwest Territories Power Corporation's general rate application was motivation for a resolution asking the GNWT to request a complete operational review of the power corporation by the Office of the Auditor General. The resolution builds on a previous resolution which asked the power corporation to consult the association prior to setting future rates, among other policies.

The association also addressed concerns about how the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement which would economically effect municipalities in the NWT.

A resolution was passed asking the GWNT to issue an exemption of the NWT from the agreement, explain and disclose the potential effects of the agreement to the European Union, and give NWT municipalities the freedom to decide if they will be bound by the rules of the agreement.

The association also decided to send this resolution to relevant organizations such as the Federation of Canadian Municipalities.

A review of the Department of Municipal and Community Affairs' Extraordinary Funding Policy was requested as well. The resolution came from concerns that legitimate claims for funding, which is available to communities experiencing extraordinary circumstances, were denied because of a community's solid fiscal standing and from concerns about the limited list of eligibility categories. An energy emergency, for example, is not currently considered eligible for the fund.

The NWT Outstanding Volunteer Awards were awarded at a luncheon on May 11, during the meeting. The Department of Municipal and Community Affairs calls for award nominations in January and the winners each receive $500 to give to the volunteer organization of their choice.

The association also recognized members and those who have served member communities with the NWT Association of Communities Community Builder Awards. This is the second year the association has presented these awards.


NWT Outstanding Volunteer Awards:

  • Outstanding Elder Award - Yvonne Quick, Yellowknife
  • Outstanding Youth Award - Marvin Apples, Behchoko
  • Outstanding Individual Award - Val Gendron, Fort Simpson
  • Outstanding Group Award - CIBC Run for Our Lives Committee, Yellowknife

Recipients of the Community Builder Awards:

  • President's Award - Yvette Gonzalez, NWTAC chief executive officer
  • Community Builder Award - Chris Larocque, councillor, Town of Inuvik
  • Community Service Award - Kingland Sterling (Ford dealer), Hay River
  • Roll of Honour (Long Service Award) - Frank Pope, deputy mayor, Town of Norman Wells
  • Roll of Honour (Long Service Award) - Tim Melnyk, councillor, Town of Norman Wells

Source: NWT Association of Communities

E-mailWe welcome your opinions. Click here to e-mail a letter to the editor.