business pages

paragraph divider NNSL Photo/Graphic
paragraph divider

Subscriber pages
Entire content of seven NNSL papers in both Web and PDF formats including the following sections:

 News desk
 Editorials - Letters
 Newspaper PDFs
 Columns - Tenders

Demo pages
Here's a sample of what only subscribers see

Subscribe now
Subscribe to hardcopy or internet editions of NNSL publications

Our print and online advertising information, including contact details

paragraph divider
Search NNSLSearch NNSL
Canadian North
paragraph divider


Court News and Legal Links

Home page text size buttonsbigger textsmall textText size Email this articleE-mail this page

News Briefs: Wednesday, May 16, 2012
New mayoral candidate

There is a third contender seeking the mayor's seat in this fall's municipal election.

After receiving a glowing endorsement from Ice Road Trucker Alex Debogorski in Friday's Yellowknifer, former Yk Motors owner Tony Vane called to announce his candidacy for mayor. Vane said he is running because the city needs a "shake up," most importantly at the municipal enforcement division, which he referred to as "glorified dogcatchers."

Vane joins Tim Doyle, executive director for the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce, and city councillor Paul Falvo as declared candidates for mayor.

- NNSL staff

Loan service silenced

The national interlibrary loan service at Library and Archives Canada will be cut in less than a year, but the average library user in Yellowknife shouldn't feel much of an impact.

Slated to be cancelled February 2013, the federal service lends Canadian archival materials documenting Canadian heritage to libraries across the country.

Yellowknife Public Library manager Deborah Bruser said the cut will not affect the majority of patrons' interlibrary loan requests. Yellowknife residents most often seek materials that can be sourced from other NWT libraries, she said.

Helen Balanoff, executive director of the NWT Literacy Council, said it's too early to tell what the impact the cut will have for Yellowknifers wishing to access material from Library and Archives Canada.

- Danielle Sachs

Amnesty week

Amnesty week at the Yellowknife dump begins Saturday for residential items. Until Friday, May 25, the $8 tipping fee at the dump will be waived, though other tipping fees and the two bag limit for curbside collection will still apply.

- Kevin Allerston

Ferry open

The Department of Transportation has announced that the Merv Hardie Ferry opened for the season as of 6 p.m. Monday. The ferry will operate normal hours, from 6 a.m. to 12 a.m., though threats from ice and water levels may cause short-term service disruptions according to a department news release.

- Kevin Allerston

Repulse takes men's crown

Rankin Inlet

Naujaat (Repulse Bay) defeated Rankin Inlet to capture the men's division of the Laura Gauthier Memorial volleyball tournament in Rankin earlier this month.

The Rankin VTeam defeated the Rankin Fusion to claim the female crown, with the Rankin Elementary Team taking bronze in the men's division, and Gjoa Haven scoring bronze on the female side of the ledger.

For the complete story on all the action, please see the May 23 edition of Kivalliq News.

Top fishers


A lot of happy people went home with smiles on their faces after catching the big one in the annual Arviat lake trout fishing derby earlier this month.

Participants were not allowed to travel more than 100 miles from Arviat to fish in this year's derby, which received donations from Anthony's Taxi and Sila Rainbow.

Below are the top fishers at the event, with position, size of catch in centimetres and prize money listed.

1. Shane Ubluriak, 98.9, $11,500
2. Nina Schweder, 94.4, $5,000
3. Susan Savikataaq, 94, $4,000
4. Elizabeth Issakiark, 93.6, $2,000
5. Mary P. Mamgark, 90.5, $1,500
6. Laureen Pameolik, 90.4, $1,000
7. Arlene Ford, 90.2, $800
8. Gabriel Alagalak, 89.9, $700
9. Terri Rose Angalik, 89, $600
10. Susan Savikataaq, 88.9, $500

Silver soccer winners

Rankin Inlet/Yellowknife

The Rankin Inlet Grade 8 boys soccer team claimed the silver medal at the junior Super Soccer tournament in Yellowknife earlier this month.

The Rankin squad fell 40 to the St. Joseph's Huskies in the final.

Kiggavik sessions planned


The Nunavut Impact Review Board (NIRB) will be holding a series of meetings across the region concerning Areva Resources Canada's Kiggavik uranium project near Baker Lake this month.

The meetings will focus on Areva's draft environmental impact statement concerning the Kiggavik project, accepted by the NIRB earlier this month.

The meetings will be held in Baker Lake on May 22 and 23 at Jonah Amitnaaq Secondary School, before moving on to Arviat on May 24 at the recreation complex.

NIRB will be in Whale Cove on May 25 at the John Adjuk Community Hall, Rankin Inlet on May 26 (community access centre), Chesterfield Inlet on May 28 (community access centre), Coral Harbour on May 29 (Qaggivik community hall) and Repulse Bay on May 30 (community hall).

All meetings are scheduled to be held from 6:30 to 10 p.m. in each community.

Tourney player

Repulse Bay/Saskatoon

Tiffany Siusangnark of Repulse Bay was among six Nunavut hockey players to compete on Team NWT at the National Aboriginal Hockey Championship this past week.

Joining Siusangnark on the NWT's female team was MaryRose Kilabuk of Panniqtuuq, while appearing on the NWT's boys' team were Alex Suvega, Nathan and Matthew Gardner, and Lodie Ipeelie of Iqaluit and Kinwell GordonRuben of Paulatuk.

Mine cleanup talks

Rankin Inlet

Residents of Rankin Inlet are invited to attend a community consultation meeting on the North Rankin Nickel Mine cleanup.

The meeting will be held tomorrow, May 17, at the Rankin Inlet community hall beginning at 7 p.m.

Food and beverages will be served during the meeting, and a number of door prizes will be given away.

Nomination call


The Northern Youth Abroad (NYA) program is accepting nominations for its 2012 Outstanding Alumni Award.

The award is presented each year to a member of NYA's alumni to help recognize and congratulate them for reaching their goals and helping others.

The winner will be flown to Ottawa to receive their award during the first week of July.

Former NYA participants from the Kivalliq have won four of the past five alumni awards, with Karen Aglukark of Arviat (2011), Denise Malliki of Repulse Bay (2009), Dianne Iyago of Baker Lake (2008) and Gloria Kowtak of Whale Cove/Rankin Inlet (2007) all being honoured.