Email this articleE-mail this story  Discuss this articleWrite letter to editor  Discuss this articleOrder a classified ad  Print this page

NNSL photo

Among the 2005-06 award winners from Thomas Simpson school were, from left: Caitlin Jaffray, Dawn Bell, Donovan Peterson and Jeffrey McKay.

Their time to shine

Derek Neary
Northern News Services

Fort Simpson (July 01/05) - Before the doors flew open for the last time, students at Thomas Simpson school were given their well-deserved hardware and certificates for an honest year's work.

The June 24 occasion was also used as a send-off for Mabel Nahanni, who is exiting after 19 years as custodian.

Principal Robert Byatt described Nahanni as "one of the finest people I've ever worked with."

He said she took an interest in the individuals, not just the building.

"She's taken very good care of us over the years," said Byatt.

Mitchell Byatt, a member of student council, concurred. He said Nahanni is very friendly and caring.

"If you look like you're having a bad day she'd try to make you feel better about yourself," he said.

As a retirement gift, the Dehcho education board is contributing towards a trip for Nahanni - she said she wants to visit Calgary. Student council bought her an armchair.

Pupils who earned awards for 2004-05 were as follows:

Academic awards

Science 10, Math 10 - Derek Ocko

Northern studies - Beth Jumbo

Biology 30, English 20, Social 20 and Psychology 20 - Caitlin Jaffray

Physics 30, Biology 20 and Math 20P - Jessie Loutit

Social 30 - Jennifer Thistle

Drama - Kalee Cumberland

Career and Life Management 20 - Lynette Anderson

Math 20E - Darren Gargan

Math 30E, Fashion Design - Krista Okrainec

English 30 and Physics 20 - Maggie O'Neill

Art (senior high) - Jodie Thompson

Math 10 Prep, Fashion Design - Miranda Elleze

Math 30P - Morgan LeBlanc

Physical Education - Mike Matou

Social Studies and Science 7 - Jeffrey McKay

Social Studies, Science 9 and Physical Education - Jackie Thompson

Social Studies, Science 8 and Physical Education - Anthony Roche

Math 7 - Gordon Thompson

Math 9, Science 9, Language Arts 9 and Health 9 - Amanda Bradbury

Most-improved student

Senior high - Krista Okrainec

Junior high - Donovan Peterson

All-around student

Senior high - Maggie O'Neill

Junior high - Ashley Okrainec

Student council award - Mitchell Byatt

Outstanding achievement in art

Senior high - Caitlin Jaffray

Junior high - Ramona Menicoche-Bain

Outstanding achievement in drama

Junior high - Jackie Thompson

Senior high - Morgan LeBlanc


Grades 7-9 - Jeffrey McKay

Grades 10-12 - Caitlin Jaffray

All sport award

Junior high female - Jackie Thompson

Junior high male - Anthony Roche

Senior high female - Jessie Loutit

Senior high male -- Liam Hardisty

Naomi Heffler memorial scholarship

Maggie O'Neill