Yellowknife Inn

NNSL photo/graphic


 Front Page
 News Desk
 News Briefs
 News Summaries
 Arctic arts
 Readers comment
 Find a job
 Market reports
 Handy Links
 Best of Bush
 Visitors guides
 Feature Issues
 Today's weather
 Leave a message



. NNSL Logo
Home page text size buttonsbigger textsmall textText size Email this articleE-mail this page

Twelve graduate from underground mining program

Guy Quenneville
Northern News Services
Published Monday, December 14, 2009

SOMBA K'E/YELLOWKNIFE - Twelve students from across the NWT - joined by proud, camera-toting family and friends - graduated from the Mine Training Society and Aurora College's fifth offering of the Underground Miner Training Program in a ceremony held Dec. 1 at the Tree of Peace in Yellowknife.

NNSL photo/graphic

Dayna Zoe of Behchoko comes off the scoop tram at a Department of Transportation quarry on the road to Dettah. Despite the chilly November weather, Zoe maintains a grin. - photo courtesy of Mine Training Society

Students hailing from Behchoko, Fort Smith, Fort McPherson, Inuvik, Yellowknife, Whati, Fort Providence and Lutsel K'e first undertook six weeks of class-based introductory learning in each of their home communities.

Following that, they had 12 weeks of hands-on training using an underground simulator at the college as well as practising on haul trucks at a Department of Transportation quarry on the road to Dettah.

Now they must actively seek 12-week work placements at one of Yellowknife's three diamond mines in order to complete their training.

"I saw a flyer in a building over in Fort Smith," said valedictorian Ryan Lafferty, who was working in a convenience store at the time. "I just looked into program ... and wanted to try something new. It worked out for me."


  • Andrew Beaverho (Whati)
  • Alvin Catholique (Lutsel K'e)
  • Jonathan Ek (Fort Smith)
  • Malcolm Farcy (Fort Providence)
  • Val Francis (Yellowknife)
  • Ryan Lafferty (Fort Smith)
  • Michael Modeste (Fort Smith)
  • Brian Norman (Inuvik)
  • Charles Neyando (Fort McPherson)
  • Samson Paulette (Fort Smith)
  • Chris Vermillion (Fort Smith)
  • Dayna Zoe (Behchoko)

We welcome your opinions on this story. Click to e-mail a letter to the editor.